padmapreetham's picture
Posted by padmapreetham on January 19, 2011

The actor will be hosting the fifth and the sixth seasons of KBC after he brought in the much anticipated TRPs for Sony in this show.

Sony signs Amitabh for two seasons
Amitabh hosted the first and second seasons of the Indian version of the popular show "Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?" in 2000 and 2005 on Star Plus, and proved that he is the right choice for hosting KBC after SRK’s magic as host couldn’t take off in the third season in 2007.

Interestingly, the legendary actor did manage to make the fourth season an incredible hit after Sony approached him for the show.

Confirming that Sony had signed him for the next two editions of KBC, Big B posted on his social networking site, Twitter, "Sony and I have signed on for KBC for the next two seasons... your blessings and encouragement needed in abundance!"

Talking about Amitabh becoming the host for KBC once again, the Executive Vice president and Business Head of Sony Entertainment Television, Ajit Thakur, stated “We have certainly tied up with Mr. Bachchan for the next two seasons of KBC. The next season will be on this year itself, but we have not planned when it will go on air.”

Big B no longer a brand ambassador for IIFA
After having given last year’s International Indian Film Academy awards (IIFA) in Colombo a miss it’s learnt that Amitabh will no longer be the Brand Ambassador of the prestigious event.

Confirming this spokesperson, Sabbas Joseph stated, “Due to unexplainable reasons, after announcing the event as ‘brand ambassador’, Mr. Bachchan couldn’t participate last year. Following this, we aborted the concept of a ‘brand ambassador.”

Following this news, Amitabh on Monday morning posted on his twitter page that his services were no longer required by IIFA.

Meanwhile, it’s heard that the association is planning to make Anil Kapoor or Salman as their new brand ambassador.


Currently voting on

Out of these five, who do you think would be eliminated from Bigg Boss 8 this week? Vote!